



## NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL POST SRINIVASNAGAR, MANGALURU – 575 025

Phone: (0824) 2474 000. Fax: (0824) 2474 033/ 2474 039

E- mail: registrar@nitk.ac.in

00. Fax: (0824) 2474 033/ 2474 039 Website: <u>http://www.nitk.ac.in</u>



## Minutes of proceedings of 54<sup>th</sup> meeting of the BOARD OF GOVERNORS of National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal held on November 10, 2018 (Saturday) at 2:30PM in the Board Room, NITK, Surathkal.

## Members Present:

1.	Prof. K Balaveera Reddy, Former Vice Chancellor, VTU – Belgaum, "Veerabhadra Nilayam" H No. 10, 4 <sup>th</sup> A Cross, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Block, HRBR Layout, Kalyana Nagar, Bengaluru – 560043.	 Chairman
2.	<b>Shri Madan Mohan,</b> DDG (HE), Dept. of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development Govt. of India, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi-110 001	 Member
	[Participated through Skype Video Conference]	
	Representative of: Shri Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, IAS Additional Secretary (TE) & CVO, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, Dept. of Higher Education, T E Bureau, 107-C, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi-110 001	
3.	<b>Dr. (Ms.) Anju Chadha</b> Professor, Laboratory of Bioorganic Chemistry, Department of Biotechnology & NCCR, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, CHENNAI - 600 036.	 Member
4.	<b>Prof. K Umamaheshwara Rao,</b> Director, NITK, Surathkal.	 Member
5.	<b>Prof. Muralidhar Kulkarni,</b> Professor, Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering, NITK, Surathkal.	 Member
6.	<b>Prof. Udaya Bhat K</b> Professor, Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering, NITK, Surathkal.	 Member

Secretary

.....

**Shri K Ravindranath** Registrar, NITK, Surathkal.

The Hon'ble Chairperson welcomed all the members of the BOG to the meeting. A warm welcome was extended to the new member Prof. Muralidhar Kulakarni, Department of E&C, NITK - new nominee of the Senate to the Board. The Board placed on record the services of outgoing member Prof. M K Nagaraj.

With the permission of the Hon'ble Chair, the Committee began its proceedings. The written comments of Shri Anil Kumar Singh, Under Secretary, Dept. of Higher Education, Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India sent vide letter F No. 18-7/2018-TS.III dated the – November, 2018 on the Agenda Note were read and taken into consideration while discussing the agenda items.

Item No. 54.1: Reading and confirmation of the Minutes of the 53<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the Board of Governors held on Friday, October 05, 2018 at 11.00 AM in the CCMT Hall, NITK, Surathkal - Reg.

The Minutes of 53<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the Board of Governors held on October 05, 201818 in the CCMT Conference Hall, NITK, Surathkal were read and confirmed.

Item No.54.2: To consider the report on action taken on the resolutions of 53<sup>rd</sup> Meeting of BoG held on Friday, October 05, 2018 at 11.00 AM in the CCMT Hall, NITK, Surathkal - Reg.

The BOG resolved to discuss the report on action taken on the various resolutions of the 53<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the BOG held on 05-10-2018 in the next meeting of the BOG.

- <u>Item No. 54.3:</u> To consider the Item placed before the 54<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Board of Governors held on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at 2.00PM in the Board Room, NITK, Surathkal.
- <u>Item No. 54.3.1:</u> To consider the list of graduates eligible for the award of B. Tech/ M. Tech/ M. Tech (Research)/ M.C.A/ M.B.A/ M. Sc./ PhD degree during the 16<sup>th</sup> Annual Cconvocation – Reg.

The BOG resolved to approve the list of **1,581** number of students for the award of Degree in 16<sup>th</sup> Convocation to be held on 10-11-2018, as recommended by the Senate in its 46<sup>th</sup> meeting held on 02-11-2018.

NITK, Surathkal: Minutes of 54th meeting of BOG – Meeting Date: 10-11-2018

7.

Programme	Number of Students
B. Tech.	819
M. Tech.	446
M. Tech. (Research)	14
M.C.A	86
M.B.A	45
M. Sc. (Physics)	22
M. Sc. (Chemistry)	25
PhD.	124
Total	1,581

Item No. 54.3.2:

Any other item with the permission of the Chair

No other items were considered for discussion.

The meeting ended with Vote of thanks to the Chair.

(K. Ravindranath) Secretary, BoG, NITK, Surathkal.

(K. Balaveera Reddy) Chairperson, BoG, NITK, Surathkal.