

## NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA SURATHKAL

# **MINUTES**

### OF

## 34th SENATE MEETING

Date : 7.8.2013

Time : 5.00 p.m

Venue : ATB Seminar Hall, N.I.T.K., Surathkal MANGALORE PIN - 575 025.

### NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL 34<sup>th</sup> SENATE MEETING

Date: 7.8.2013

Time: 5.00 p.m.

Venue:

ATB Seminar Hall N.I.T.K., SURATHKAL.

#### MINUTES

#### MEMBERS PRESENT:

EMBERS PRESENT:	
Swapan Bhattacharya	 Chairman
A. Kandaswamy	 Member
A. Nityananda Shetty	 Member
A. Vittal Hegde	 Member
A.Chitharanjan Hegde	 Member
A.H. Sequeira	 Member
A.U. Ravi Shankar	 Member
A.V. Adhikari	 Member
Annappa	 Member
Arun M	 Member
B.Ramachandra Bhat	 Member
Ch.S.N. Murthy	 Member
D. Venkat Reddy	 Member
D.Krishna Bhat	 Member
D.V.R. Murthy	 Member
Dwarakish G.S.	 Member
G. K. Shiva Kumar	 Member
G. Ram Mohana Reddy	 Member
G. Srinikethan	 Member
G. Umesh	 Member
G.C. Mohan Kumar	 Member
Gangadharan K.V.	 Member
Gopal Mugeraya	 Member
H. Suresh Hebbar	 Member
H.D. Shashikala	 Member
Jagannath Nayak	 Member
John D'Souza	 Member
K. Chandrasekaran	 Member
K. N. Prabhu	 Member
K. Panduranga Vittal	 Member
K. Rajendra Udupa	 Member
K.B.Kiran	 Member
K.N. Lokesh	 Member
K.S. Babu Narayan	 Member
K.Swaminathan	 Member
Katta Venkataramana	 Member
Keshava Prasad Halemane	 Member
M. Govinda Raj	 Member
M.B. Saidutta	 Member
M.C. Narasimhan	 Member
M.K. Nagaraj	 Member
Muralidhar Kulkarni	Member
Murulidhar N.N.	 Member

<sup>34&</sup>lt;sup>th</sup> Senate Meeting

Minutes

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

N. Lakshman	 Member
N.K.Udayashankar	 Member
Narendranath S	 Member
P. Mohanan	 Member
Prasad Krishna	 Member
R. Shivashankar	 Member
Ravikiran Kadoli	 Member
Robert John D'Souza	 Member
S. Shrihari	 Member
S. Sumam David	 Member
S.M. Hegde	 Member
S.M. Kulkarni	 Member
Santosh George	 Member
Subba Rao	 Member
Subhas C.Yaragal	 Member
T.P. Ashok Babu	 Member
Udayakumar R.Y.	 Member
Vidya Shetty	 Member
Vijay Desai	 Member
Krishna Kant Prasad	 Spl. Invitee
K.Ravindranath	 Secretary

#### Preamble:

The Chairman welcomed all the members to the 34<sup>th</sup> Senate meeting.

ITEMS PLACED BEFORE THE 34<sup>TH</sup> SENATE MEETING HELD ON AUGUST 7<sup>th</sup>, 2013.

To consider nomination of N.I.T.K. Faculty from Senate to the BOG as per NIT Act.

....

#### **RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE**

Secretary of the Senate read the letter dated 7<sup>th</sup> August 2013 received from Dr.R.J.D'Souza, Member of the Senate containing the request to nominate faculty members from the Senate to the BOG on seniority basis. The Secretary of the Senate also read the message received from the Institute High Court Advocate dated 7<sup>th</sup> August 2013. Certain points were discussed. After deliberation, the senate resolved that:

- The Secretary of the senate will seek the nomination from the Senate Members for each category including one Professor and one Associate Professor or Assistant Professor.
- If there are more than one nomination in each category, the election will take place through secret ballot.

lames 8/8

34<sup>th</sup> Senate Meeting

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

- Each nomination must be proposed and seconded in prescribed format (hard copy) and submitted along with consent letter of nominee (hard copy)
- Only Professors are eligible to propose and second a single nominee.
- Only Professors and external Senate members are eligible to vote.
- If there is tie, it will be resolved by drawing lots.
- Secretary of the Senate is authorized to conduct the election.

### Schedule of the nomination process is as follows:

8.8.2013 – Secretary of the Senate will issue the Notification for election

16.8.2013 (upto 5.00 P.M) - Last date for submission of nomination 19.8.2013 (upto 5.00 P.M) - Last date for withdrawal of nomination 21.8.2013 (from 4.30 P.M. to 6.00 P.M) – Date of Election. (if required) Nomination forms may be availed from the office of the Senate Secretary.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

**(K.Ravindranath)** Secretary-Senate, NITK

V: Shahaihama

(Swapan Bhattacharya) Chairman-Senate, NITK

Minutes